spinner

Swiss Re Next

The Media Architecture of the Auditorium

In the centre of Swiss Re's new campus on Mythenquai, Zurich a state-of-the-art auditorium is located. It offers an ideal architectural framework for various events, whereby the media elements in particular set new standards: Ten room-high LED panels can be positioned in different configurations. Arranged individually or in seamless blocks, they change the room as architectural elements and serve as flexibly usable image carriers.

For conventions and lectures, the panels are grouped together to form a panorama wall. This enables large-scale multimedia presentations in outstanding quality. For workshops and conferences, tables and chairs are arranged in U-shape and the orientation is shifted towards the front of the auditorium. At the same time the panels are split: In addition to a central block of six panels, two smaller blocks of two panels each are placed on the long sides. For aperitifs, the panels are spread around the walls as individual elements. In combination with variable lighting settings the LED panels immerse the room in a festive atmosphere.

The LEDs are positioned in such a tight grid and their brightness is so precisely adapted to that of the room that from a certain distance the panels are not recognizable as light-emitting image carriers. Rather, they look like other objects in space. This effect is enhanced by the work of artist Helmut Federle: his painting on the surrounding wooden walls has been applied to the panels. At the same time, however, they can also show moving images that extend from the floor to the ceiling. Materiality and digital information of the highest quality mesh perfectly.

iart developed and realized the LED panels and their suspension, which allows the panels to move flexibly. Furthermore, iart was responsible for the lighting of the auditorium and the adjacent rooms for direction and TV production. The entire ensemble of rooms is characterized by highest quality flexibility. It is thus exemplary for high-end contemporary media architecture.

Exhibition Site

Zurich

Project Phases

Conception, Planning, Realisation

Project Duration

4 years

Opening

July 2018

spinner

Swiss Re Next

Die mediale Architektur des Auditoriums

Im Zentrum des neuen Campus von Swiss Re am Mythenquai, Zürich befindet sich ein zukunftsweisendes Auditorium. Es bietet unterschiedlichen Veranstaltungen einen passenden architektonischen Rahmen, wobei gerade die medialen Elemente neue Massstäbe setzen: Zehn raumhohe LED-Paneele lassen sich in unterschiedlichen Anordnungen positionieren. Einzeln oder in nahtlosen Blöcken arrangiert, verändern sie den Raum als architektonische Elemente und dienen als flexibel bespielbare Bildträger.

Für Versammlungen und Vorträge werden die Paneele zu einer Panoramawand zusammengeschoben. So ermöglichen sie die grossflächige Präsentation von Slideshows und Filmen in herausragender Qualität. Für Workshops und Konferenzen werden Tische und Stühle in U-Form angeordnet und die Ausrichtung zur Stirnseite des Auditoriums hin verschoben. Gleichzeitig werden die Paneele verteilt: Neben einem zentralen Block aus sechs Paneelen, werden zwei kleinere Blöcke aus je zwei Paneelen an den Längsseiten platziert. Für Apéros werden die Paneele als Einzelelemente ringsum an den Wänden verteilt. Hier dienen die LED-Paneele in Kombination mit variierbaren Lichtsettings dazu, den Raum in eine festliche Stimmung zu tauchen.

Das Raster der LEDs ist so fein und ihre Helligkeit so präzise an jene des Raums angepasst, dass die Paneele aus einiger Distanz nicht als lichtemittierende Bildträger erkennbar sind. Vielmehr wirken sie wie andere Objekte im Raum. Diesen Effekt verstärkt die Bespielung des Künstlers Helmut Federle: Sie überträgt die manuelle Bemalung der Holzwände ringsum auf die LEDs. Gleichzeitig können sie aber auch bewegte Bilder zeigen, die vom Boden bis zur Decke reichen. Materialität und digitale Information in höchster Qualität greifen nahtlos ineinander.

iart entwickelte und realisierte die LED-Paneele und deren Aufhängung, die es erlaubt, die Paneele flexibel zu bewegen. Zudem zeichnete iart für die Beleuchtung des Auditoriums und der angrenzenden Räume für Regie und TV-Produktion verantwortlich. Das gesamte Ensemble von Räumen ist durch höchste Qualität und Flexibilität gekennzeichnet. Damit ist es beispielhaft für hochwertige zeitgenössische Medienarchitektur.

Ausstellungsort

Zürich

Leistungsphasen

Konzeption, Planung, Realisierung

Projektdauer

4 Jahre

Eröffnung

Juli 2017