A Flexible Approach to Serious Topics

In the "Wonders of Medicine" exhibition, an intelligent audio guide always knows where you are standing and where you are looking - and delivers the appropriate content precisely and in real time.

#

A Summary

"Wonders of Medicine", the permanent multimedia exhibition housed in the Novartis Pavillon brings the world of science and medicine closer to the public. Conceived together with Atelier Brückner and in collaboration with scientists from Novartis, it is built around four themes: "Fragility of Life", "From Laboratory to Patient", "Steps through Time" and "Future of Healthcare".

Welcome Wall

At the Welcome Wall, visitors are greeted by responsive light play, already visible from the Pavillon foyer, through the panes of the circular courtyard. Its subtle animations not only delight, but also signal the entrance to the exhibition.

Intelligent Audio Guide

The intelligent audio guide "Sofia" shepherds visitors through the exhibition. It always knows where they are and is thus able to provide all necessary information about exhibits in their vicinity. In this way, complex content can be conveyed in the tightest of spaces, allowing visitors to move freely through the displays. They experience the space as an open soundscape, with the option to interactively engage in a direct manner with the exhibition.

Überblick

  • Intelligent audio guide "Sofia"
  • High-precision location tracking with ultra-wideband technology (UWB) and IMU sensor
  • Acoustic information according to position and viewing direction
  • Via headphones: open soundscape and complex facts

High-precision Location Tracking

The individual listening experience is made possible by high-precision location tracking, which records the movement of visitors in real time. The tracking is based on ultra-wideband technology (UWB) and is carried out via special headphones. Each of these headphones receives signals from UWB transmitters distributed throughout the exhibition space and can determine its own position with an accuracy of ten centimetres. An IMU sensor also determines the head orientation. This way, the system also knows in which direction you are looking.

Complex Media Installations

iart was directly in charge for designing and engineering this cutting edge new media exhibit. It features notable innovations such as larger-than-life curved touch screens; holograms capable of recording visitors' movements in real time ; and a huge spherical projection in the screening room.

Exhibition Lighting

The exhibition lighting is devised for enhanced focus on the content being conveyed. The exhibition objects, vitrines, and steals are illuminated in such a manner that they seem to possess innate glow. Outlines of some installations are traced by laser-like strands of white light, evoking the atmospherics of a science lab. Lending more ambience is the diffuse lighting on the high, curved side walls of the exhibition space. Here, too, the light sources themselves are not visible, rather they serve to emphasise the height and width of the circular exhibition space.

Future Outlook

Innovative media technology makes it possible to tackle the complexity of science research, enabling the exhibition to do justice to the educational aspects, and at the same time presenting them with great visual finesse. As an exhibition, "Wonders of Medicine" embodies the vibrant link between research and innovation that is central to Novartis.

  • Opening

    2022

  • Location

    Basel

  • Client

    Novartis

  • Partners

    Atelier BrücknerBOOST+

  • Services

    Lighting DesignTechnical PlanningSystem DevelopmentSoftware DevelopmentSystem IntegrationProcess ManagementOperationCoordinationInteraction DevelopmentMaintenanceInteraction DesignMedia technical planning

Related Projects

Flexibel in die grossen Themen

In der Ausstellung «Wonders of Medicine» weiss ein intelligenter Audioguide immer, wo man steht und wohin man blickt – und liefert genau und in Echtzeit die passenden Inhalte.

#

In Kürze

Die multimediale Ausstellung «Wonders of Medicine» im Novartis Pavillon bringt die Welt der Wissenschaft und der Medizin dem breiten Publikum näher. Sie wurde zusammen mit Atelier Brückner und Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern von Novartis konzipiert und besteht aus vier Themenkreisen: «Verletzlichkeit des Lebens», «Vom Labor zum Patienten», «Schritte durch die Zeit» und «Zukunft des Gesundheitswesens».

Welcome Wall

Das bewegte Lichtspiel der Welcome Wall ist durch die Scheiben des kreisrunden Innenhofs schon vom Eingangsbereich des Pavillons zu sehen. Sie signalisiert, wo sich der Zugang zur Ausstellung befindet. Auf Besucherinnen und Besucher in ihrer Nähe reagiert sie mit subtilen Animationen.

Intelligenter Audioguide

Durch die Ausstellung führt der intelligente Audioguide «Sofia». Er weiss immer, wo man sich gerade befindet, und liefert entsprechend alle nötigen Informationen zum jeweiligen Exponat. So können komplexe Inhalte auf kleinstem Raum vermittelt werden und jede und jeder kann sich frei durch die Ausstellung bewegen. Man erlebt den Raum als offene Soundscape, kann aber auch durch direkte Befragungen in interaktiven Austausch mit der Ausstellung treten.

Überblick

  • Intelligenter Audioguide «Sofia»
  • Hochpräzises Location Tracking mit Ultra-Breitband-Technologie (UWB) und IMU-Sensor
  • Akustische Infos entsprechend Position und Blickrichtung
  • Im Kopfhörer: offene Klanglandschaft und komplexe Fakten

Hochpräzises Location Tracking

Möglich wird die individuelle Hörerfahrung durch ein hochpräzises Location Tracking, das die Bewegung der Besucherinnen und Besucher in Echtzeit erfasst. Das Tracking baut auf Ultra-Breitband-Technologie (UWB) und erfolgt über spezielle Kopfhörer. Jeder dieser Kopfhörer empfängt die Signale von im Ausstellungsraum verteilten UWB-Sendern und kann basierend darauf seine eigene Position mit einer Genauigkeit von zehn Zentimetern bestimmen. Ein IMU-Sensor ermittelt zudem die Kopforientierung. So weiss das System auch, in welche Richtung man schaut.

Komplexe Medientechnik

iart trug die Gesamtverantwortung für Ausstellungsbau und Medientechnik. Auf vielen Ebenen ist sie äusserst innovativ. Beispiele dafür sind: Überlebensgrosse, geschwungene Touchscreens; Hologramme, die die Bewegungen der Besucherinnen und Besucher in Echtzeit aufnehmen oder die riesige sphärische Projektion im Kino-Bereich.

Ausstellungsbeleuchtung

Die Lichtsetzung in der Ausstellung hat das Ziel, den Fokus auf die zu vermittelnden Inhalte zu stärken. Die Ausstellungsobjekte, Vitrinen und Stehlen sind so ins Licht gesetzt, dass sie selbst zu leuchten scheinen. Manche Kanten der Ausstellungsmöbel sind durch Stränge weissen Lichts hervorgehoben. So wird die Atmosphäre eines wissenschaftlichen Labors evoziert. Darüber hinaus liegt ein diffuses Licht auf den hohen, geschwungenen Seitenwänden des Ausstellungsraums. Auch hier sind die Lichtquellen selbst nicht erkennbar. So wird die Höhe und Weite des kreisrunden Ausstellungsraums unterstrichen.

Zukunftsperspektive

Die innovative Medientechnik ermöglicht die Vermittlung einer grossen Anzahl komplexer Themen, sodass die Ausstellung der Komplexität der Life Science-Forschung gerecht werden und sich gleichzeitig visuell äusserst edel und reduziert zeigen kann. «Wonders of Medicine» lebt somit auch als Ausstellung von der für Novartis zentralen Verbindung von Forschung und Innovation.

  • Eröffnung

    2022

  • Ort

    Basel

  • Kunde

    Novartis

  • Partner

    Atelier BrücknerBOOST+

  • Leistungen

    LichtplanungFachplanungSystementwicklungSoftwareentwicklungSystemintegrationProzessgestaltungBetriebKoordinationInteraktionsentwicklungUnterhaltInteraktionsdesignMedientechnische Planung

Weitere Projekte