spinner

The Kinetic Facade of the MegaFaces Pavilion

Sochi 2014 Winter Olympics

MegaFaces is a cross-platform project that combines digital, sculptural and architectural innovation. It was conceived by London architect Asif Khan and engineered by iart for the Sochi 2014 Winter Olympics and Paralympics. The project was commissioned by the Russian telecom operator MegaFon.

Similar to a pin screen, the kinetic facade of the MegaFaces Pavilion was able to transform in three dimensions to recreate human faces. It displayed giant 3D-'Selfies' of visitors to the building and sports fans from all over Russia and thus, gave everyone the opportunity to be the face of the Olympics. True to MegaFon's campaign: 'Create your own Olympic history'.

11,000 Telescopic Actuators

The kinetic facade of the MegaFaces Pavilion was engineered by iart down to the smallest detail. It measured 18 x 8 metres and consisted of 11,000 telescopic cylinders, so called actuators. The actuators could be controlled individually and carried at their tips a translucent sphere containing an RGB-LED. Each actuator acted as one pixel within the entire facade and could be extended by up to two metres as part of a three-dimensional shape or change colour as part of an image or video that was simultaneously displayed.

Facial Scans Generated in 3D Photo Booths

Facial impressions were created once every minute. They were relayed to the kinetic facade from scans made in 3D photo booths that were custom-developed by iart and installed within the building and in public locations across Russia. The photo booths captured five photographs at the same time from slightly different angles, thus making the scanning process simple and instantaneous.

A scaling and positioning algorithm developed by Scott Eaton transformed the faces on-the-fly considering day lighting, scale, rotation, form and additional colour. The processed facial models were then inserted into a timeline by iart's electronic scheduling system. Finally, the images were converted into control data and sent to the individual actuators. An external system displayed participants' names on screens in front of the pavilion and sent them an SMS informing them of the time their faces would appear.

The First 3D Actuated Large-Scale LED Facade

The resultant portraits appeared on the side of the building, three at a time, at 8 metres tall — a magnification of 3500x  larger, in fact, than the Statue of Liberty's face. Technologies of this kind have never before been used for such a large-scale project. MegaFaces is effectively the world's first three-dimensionally actuated large-scale LED screen.

The Face as Universal Shorthand for Communicating

Asif Khan's concept for MegaFaces was inspired by the way the world is changing around us and how architecture can respond to it. For thousands of years people have used portraiture to record their history on the landscape, buildings and through public art. Today the internet is how we record our history. 'Selfies', 'emoticons', 'Facebook' and 'FaceTime' etc. have become universal tools for communicating, and the face persists as the prevalent shorthand in these new mediums.

In realising this project, iart has once again proven itself as an interdisciplinary partner with profound engineering expertise. After having successfully collaborated on Coca-Cola's Beatbox Pavilion for the 2012 Summer Olympics in London, this was the second joint project between Asif Khan and iart.

Exhibition Site

Sochi 2014 Olympic Park

Project Phases

Conception, Planning, Realisation, Operation

Project Duration

1 year

Opening

7 February 2014

Exhibition Duration

1 month


Client

In the Media

spinner

Die kinetische Fassade des MegaFaces-Pavillons

Olympische Winterspiele 2014 in Sotschi

MegaFaces ist ein plattformübergreifendes Projekt, das digitale, skulpturale und architektonische Innovation miteinander verbindet. Es wurde für die Olympischen und Paralympischen Winterspiele 2014 in Sotschi vom Londoner Architekten Asif Khan konzipiert und von iart entwickelt und realisiert. Auftraggeber ist das russische Telekommunikationsunternehmen MegaFon.

Die kinetische Fassade des MegaFaces-Pavillons konnte — vergleichbar mit einem beweglichen Nagelkissen  dreidimensionale Objekte räumlich nachbilden und so menschliche Gesichter plastisch darstellen. Sie zeigte 3D-'Selfies' von Besuchern des Gebäudes sowie Sportfans aus ganz Russland und gab so jeder und jedem die Möglichkeit, das Gesicht der Olympischen Winterspiele zu werden. Ganz nach MegaFons Kampagne für die Olympischen Spiele: 'Create your own Olympic History'.

11'000 teleskopische Aktuatoren

Die kinetische Fassade des MegaFaces-Pavillons wurde von iart bis ins kleinste Detail entwickelt und realisiert. 18 x 8 Meter gross, bestand sie aus insgesamt 11'000 teleskopischen Zylindern, so genannte Aktuatoren. Die Aktuatoren konnten einzeln angesteuert werden und waren an der Spitze mit einer transluzenten Kugel ausgerüstet, in der sich eine RGB-LED befand. Wie Pixel eines Bildschirms stellte jeder von ihnen einen Bildpunkt der Gesamtfassade dar, konnte als Teil einer dreidimensionalen Form bis zu zwei Meter aus- und einfahren oder als Teil eines Bildes oder einer Farbbildsequenz die Farbe ändern.

Gesichtsscans aus dem 3D-Fotoautomaten

Eigens von iart für das Projekt entwickelte 3D-Fotoautomaten im Innern des Gebäudes und an verschiedenen Standorten in Russland erstellten 3D-Gesichtsscans und sendeten die Daten im Minutentakt an die kinetische Fassade. Die Fotoautomaten nahmen gleichzeitig fünf Fotografien aus leicht unterschiedlichen Winkeln auf, wodurch sich der Scanning-Prozess einfach und augenblicklich gestaltete.

Ein von Scott Eaton entwickelter Algorithmus transformierte und positionierte die 3D-Gesichtsmodelle unter Berücksichtigung von Tageslicht, Grösse, Rotation, Form und zusätzlicher Farbgebung. Im Anschluss fügte iarts elektronisches Scheduling-System die aufbereiteten Gesichtsmodelle in eine Timeline ein. Zuletzt wurden die Bilder in Steuerdaten umgewandelt und an die einzelnen Aktuatoren geschickt. Damit niemand die Anzeige seines Gesichts verpasste, informierte ein externes System die Teilnehmer per SMS und auf Bildschirmen vor dem Pavillon über den exakten Zeitpunkt.

Die erste grossflächige 3D-LED-Fassade

An der Fassade des MegaFaces-Pavillons wurden gleichzeitig bis zu drei, je acht Meter hohe Porträts angezeigt  3500 Mal grösser als das Original  grösser als das Gesicht der Freiheitsstatue. Es ist das erste Mal, dass diese Art von Technologie für ein Projekt dieser Grösse eingesetzt wurde. MegaFaces ist die erste grossflächige 3D-LED-Wand der Welt.

Das Gesicht als universelles Kommunikationsmittel

Asif Khans Konzept für MegaFaces wurde von der Art, wie sich die Welt um uns herum verändert und wie Architektur darauf reagieren kann, inspiriert. Während tausenden von Jahren haben Menschen Porträts verwendet, um ihre Geschichte und Gesichter in der Landschaft, in der Architektur und durch Kunst im öffentlichen Raum zu verewigen. Heute nutzen wir dazu das Internet. 'Selfies', 'Emoticons', 'Facebook' und 'FaceTime' sind zu universellen Werkzeugen der Kommunikation im digitalen Zeitalter geworden und das Gesicht bleibt auch in diesen neuen Medien die vorherrschende Kurzschrift.

iart konnte sich mit diesem Projekt erneut als interdisziplinärer Partner mit fundiertem Engineering-Know-how unter Beweis stellen. Nach der erfolgreichen Zusammenarbeit für den Beatbox Pavillon von Coca-Cola an der Olympischen Sommerspielen 2012 in London, war dies das zweite gemeinsame Projekt von Asif Khan und iart.

Ausstellungsort

Olympiapark Sotschi 2014

Leistungsphasen

Konzeption, Planung, Realisierung und Betrieb

Projektdauer

1 Jahr

Eröffnung

7. Februar 2014

Ausstellungsdauer

1 Monat


Kunde

Presseberichte