spinner

Coca-Cola Beatbox Pavilion

London 2012 Summer Olympics

During the London 2012 Summer Olympic and Paralympic Games, sponsor Coca-Cola presented the 'Beatbox' pavilion in the middle of the Olympic Park. The pavilion combined architectural design and sound technology to produce a 'communication tool' where guests could walk in and create music. 230 red and white translucent synthetic cushions — 40 of them sound-emitting and touch-sensitive — were developed to make up the interactive facade of the pavilion.

An Interactive Musical Instrument

iart's audio and interaction technology was integrated into 40 ETFE (ethylene tetrafluoroethylene) membranes all over the building and allowed visitors to 'play' the pavilion like an instrument, just by touching the cushions. To enable this effect, iart created a structure sensitive to movement and touch, reacting with a series of pre-recorded sounds composed by Mark Ronson. Through sound, vibration and LED light activation, visitors experienced the immediate tonal, tactile and visual feedback. This interactivity of the facade brought the pavilion to life, offering a unique visitors' experience.

7000 Visitors Each Day

iart developed this 'musical instrument' from proof of concept to solution in close collaboration with the architects Asif Khan and Pernilla Ohrstedt, and the sound designers in just seven months. Around 300,000 people were passing through the pavilion during the Olympics: on average 7000 visitors per day. The project is a perfect example of the symbiosis between architecture and interactive media, successfully contributing to turn a sponsor's idea into a corporate architecture which transports the message by its visual, audible and participatory appearance to a huge audience.

Exhibition Site

London 2012 Summer Olympics

Project Phases

Planning and Realisation

Project Duration

7 months

Opening

28 July 2012

Exhibition Duration

45 days

spinner

Coca-Cola Beatbox Pavillon

Olympische Somerspiele 2012 in London

Während der Londoner Olympischen und Paralympischen Sommerspiele 2012 war Sponsor Coca-Cola mit dem Beatbox Pavillon an zentraler Stelle im Olympischen Park präsent. Das Gebäude vereinte Architekturdesign und Tontechnik zu einem begehbaren "Kunstwerk", in dem die Besucher Musik erzeugen konnten. Für die kristalline Fassade des Pavillons wurden 230 Kunststoff-Kissen (aus Ethylen-Tetrafluorethylen, EFTE) in transluzentem Rot und Weiss hergestellt. 40 der Kissen, über die Fassade verteilt, reagierten mit Klängen auf Annäherung und Berührung der Besucher.

Ein interaktives "Musikinstrument"

Von iart mit Audio- und Interaktionstechnologie ausgestattet, erlaubten es die 40 Kissen, den Pavillon wie ein Instrument zu "spielen". Um diesen Effekt zu ermöglichen, hatte iart eine Struktur entwickelt, die auf Bewegung und Berührung mit einer Reihe zuvor aufgezeichneter Töne reagierte. Durch die Aktivierung von Ton, Vibration und LED-Licht erlebten die Besucher eine direkte hör-, spür- und sichtbare Reaktion. Die Interaktivität der Fassade erweckte den Pavillon zum Leben und ermöglichte ein einzigartiges Besuchererlebnis. Mit Soundausschnitten aus der von Mark Ronson für Coca-Cola komponierten Olympiahymne konnten die Besucher ihren eigenen Beat für London 2012 kreieren.

7000 Besucher pro Tag

iart hat das "Musikinstrument" von der Machbarkeitsstudie bis zur finalen Umsetzung in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Architekten, Sound Designern und dem Generalunternehmer Nüssli in nur sieben Monaten entwickelt. Rund 150 000 Besucher wurden im Pavillon während der Olympischen Spiele erwartet, ungefähr die doppelte Anzahl hat ihn besucht: im Durchschnitt 7000 Besucher pro Tag. Das Projekt ist das perfekte Beispiel für die Symbiose von Architektur und interaktivem Medium und macht aus einem Sponsorenpavillon ein Stück fühl-, hör- und sichtbare Unternehmensarchitektur.

Ausstellungsort

Olympische und Paralympische Sommerspiele, London 2012

Leistungsphasen

Planung und Realisierung

Projektdauer

7 Monate

Eröffnung

28. Juli 2012

Ausstellungsdauer

45 Tage