spinner

'Arabian Journeys'

Playful Learning in Spectacular Immersive Spaces

At the gates of Dhahran. At the site where Saudi Arabia's first oil well was discovered, there is now a spectacular cultural hub: The King Abdulaziz Center for World Culture. It offers space for international meetings, but also houses an exhibition designed to give Saudi Arabia's youth in particular an in-depth picture of the natural history of their country. Under the title 'Arabian Journeys', an elaborate ensemble of interactive stations, expansive, curved projections and exhibits was developed. The possibilities of combining interactive stations and immersive projections are consistently explored. In this way, the exhibition sets new standards in terms of knowledge transfer through gamification.

Unique Interactive Stations 

iart is responsible for the development and implementation of the media stations that invite visitors to interact in the seven zones of the exhibition. Their physical and digital components were developed in relation to the respective thematic focuses. Form and functionality vary and make the media stations unique. What all the stations have in common, however, is that they correspond with immersive projections, which frame the thematic zones. The actions of the visitors thus change the appearance of the entire landscape through which they walk. Thus they playfully learn how the Arabian Peninsula came into being, what characterises its flora and fauna today and how the habitat can be preserved for the future. ATELIER BRÜCKNER was responsible for the design of the entire exhibition.

Accompanied by Two Virtual Narrators

On their way, visitors are accompanied by two virtual narrators who appear on screens or projections. They welcome and bid farewell to the visitors and provide guidelines for action and contextual information.

Island Arabia

The origin of the Arabian Peninsula is the theme of the first zone through which visitors move. On a large globe, the continental shifts that have created the land mass over millions of years become visible. A projector inside the globe throws the changing appearance of the planet's surface onto the spherical shell of the exhibit. Visitors control the flow on the time axis by hand.

The vertical dimension of the continental shifts becomes visible on the pin table next to it: thousands of closely joined hexagonal rods move up and down, forming a three-dimensional relief that serves as a horizontal projection surface. The changing surface of the exhibit corresponds to the changing topography of the Arabian Peninsula over thousands of years.

Mountain Crossing

The theme of the second zone of the exhibition is the mountain range on the western flank of Saudi Arabia. It is shaped in Corian and is visually contoured by a projection. The table offers interactive possibilities on both sides of the chain of summits: a digital journey leads visitors through the mountains in several stages. After a successful hike, the  exhibit reacts and gathers the surrounding players in a 'collective moment'.

Lounge

In the area between the thematic zones, interactive books playfully tell the story of journeys to archaeological sites, pilgrimage destinations and commercial centres. The books are set into the curved elements in the centre of the exhibition. Some sections are printed, others are filled with digital animations. Sensors in the pedestal enable visitors to trigger actions and choose between Arabic and English at the touch of a finger.

Costal Voyage

Back in one of the zones, visitors experience the characteristics of the two seas surrounding the Arabian Peninsula. An interactive table allows their features to appear physically: Parts of the table are moved by touch, so that the depth of the oceans and life in different depths become visible. Here, too, visitors explore the habitat in an interactive parcours. The expansive wall projection also is interactive: swarms of fish react to the movements of the visitors in the exhibition space.

Into the Future

The last thematic zone takes a look into the future. As it is still unknown, the zone's design is abstract. Gathered around a central polygonal table, up to five players simultaneously try to manage natural resources in an interactive game and thus symbolically secure a successful future. The playing surface extends over the table and walls: the effects of the players' actions become visible all over the room.

Exhibition Site

Dhahran (Saudi Arabia)

Project Phases

Conception, Planning and Realisation

Project Duration

8 years

Opening

29 November 2018

Exhibition Duration

Permanent Exhibition

Exhibition Area

1300m²

spinner

'Arabian Journeys'

Spielerisches Lernen in spektakulären immersiven Räumen

Vor den Toren Dhahrans. Am Ort, an dem die erste Ölquelle Saudi-Arabiens entdeckt wurde, steht heute ein spektakuläres Kulturzentrum: Das King Abdulaziz Center for World Culture. Es bietet Raum für hochrangige internationale Treffen, aber beherbergt auch eine Ausstellung, die gerade der Jugend Saudi-Arabiens ein vertieftes Bild der Naturgeschichte ihres Landes vermitteln soll. Unter dem Titel 'Arabian Journeys' wurde dafür ein aufwändiges Ensemble von interaktiven Stationen, raumgreifenden, geschwungenen Projektionen und originalen Exponaten entwickelt. Konsequent werden die Möglichkeiten der Kombination von interaktiven Spielen und medialer Immersion ausgelotet. So setzt die Ausstellung neue Massstäbe in Bezug auf Wissensvermittlung durch Gamification.

Einzigartige interaktive Stationen

iart zeichnet verantwortlich für die Entwicklung und Umsetzung der medialen Stationen, die in den sieben Zonen der Ausstellung zur Interaktion einladen. Ihre physischen und digitalen Komponenten wurden in Bezug auf die jeweiligen Themenschwerpunkte entwickelt. Form und Funktionalität variieren und machen die Medienstationen zu aufregenden Unikaten. Alle Stationen verbindet jedoch, dass sie in Korrespondenz mit immersiven Projektionen stehen, die die thematischen Zonen rahmen. Die Handlungen der  Besucher verändern somit die Erscheinung der gesamten medialen Landschaft, durch die sie sich bewegen. Spielerisch lernen sie, wie die arabische Halbinsel entstanden ist, was ihre Flora und Fauna heute kennzeichnet und wie der Lebensraum für die Zukunft bewahrt werden kann. Die Verantwortung für die Gestaltung der gesamten Ausstellung trug ATELIER BRÜCKNER. 

Unterwegs mit zwei virtuellen Erzählern

Auf ihrem Weg werden Besucher von zwei digitalen Erzählern begleitet, die bei ihrer Ankunft an den verschiedenen Stationen jeweils im Video auf Screens oder Projektionen erscheinen. Sie begrüssen und verabschieden die Besucher und liefern Handlungsanleitungen und Kontextinformationen.

Island Arabia

Die Entstehung der Arabischen Halbinsel ist das Thema der ersten Zone, durch die Besucher ziehen. Auf einem grossen Globus werden die kontinentalen Verschiebungen sichtbar, die über Millionen von Jahren die Landmasse haben entstehen lassen. Von einem Beamer im Inneren des Globus wird die sich verändernde Oberflächenerscheinung des Planeten auf die kugelrunde Hülle des Exponats geworfen. Von Hand steuern die Besucher die Bewegung auf der Zeitachse.

Die vertikale Dimension der kontinentalen Verschiebungen wird auf dem Pin Table nebenan sichtbar: Tausende eng gefügte sechseckige Stäbe bewegen sich auf- und abwärts und formen so ein dreidimensionales Relief, das als horizontale Projektionsfläche dient. Die sich verändernde Oberfläche des Exponats entspricht dabei der sich über Jahrtausende verändernden Topografie der Arabischen Halbinsel.

Mountain Crossing

Thema der zweiten Zone der Ausstellung sind die Berge an der Westflanke Saudi-Arabiens. Die Bergkette zeigt sich auf der Oberfläche eines in Corian gegossenen interaktiven Tisches, dessen Oberfläche von einer Projektion visuell konturiert ist. Sie reagiert auf die Interaktionen der Besucher an beiden Seiten der Hügelkette: Ein digitaler Parcours führt sie durch in mehreren Etappen durch die Berge. Nach erfolgreicher Wanderung reagiert die Gesamtbespielung des Exponats und versammelt die umstehenden Spieler in einem «collective moment».

Lounge

Im Bereich zwischen den thematischen Zonen können die Besucher verweilen. Interaktive Bücher erzählen auf spielerische Art und Weise von Reisen zu archäologischen Stätten, Pilgerorten und Handelszentren. Die Bücher sind in die geschwungenen Elemente im Zentrum der Ausstellung eingelassen. Gewisse Bereiche sind bedruckt, andere werden durch digitale Animationen erfüllt. Sensoren im Sockel ermöglichen, dass Besucher Aktionen auslösen und Darstellungen verändern können. Per Fingerdruck können sie zudem zwischen Arabisch und Englisch wählen.

Costal Voyage

Zurück in einer der Zonen erleben die Besucher die Charakteristika der beiden Meere, die die Arabische Halbinsel umgeben. Ein interaktiver Tisch lässt ihre Merkmale physisch vor Augen treten: Teile des Tisches verschieben sich durch Berührung, so wird die Tiefe der Meere und das Leben in verschiedenen Tiefen sichtbar. Auch hier erkunden Besucher den Lebensraum in einem interaktiven Parcours. Interaktiv ist auch die raumgreifende Wandprojektion: Schwärme von Fischen reagieren auf die Bewegungen der Besucher im Ausstellungsraum.

Into the Future

Die letzte Themenzone wirft einen Blick in die Zukunft. Rund um einen zentralen polygonalen Tisch versammelt, versuchen Besucher in einem interaktiven Spiel mit den natürlichen Ressourcen zu haushalten und so symbolisch eine erfolgreiche Zukunft zu sichern. Die Spielfläche erstreckt sich dabei über Tisch und Wände: An der Peripherie des Raumes werden die Effekte der Handlungen der Spieler sichtbar. So spielen bis zu fünf Spielerinnen und Spieler gleichzeitig und navigieren durch eine noch abstrakte Zukunft.

Ausstellungsort

Dhahran (Saudi-Arabien)

Leistungsphasen

Konzeption, Planung, Realisierung

Projektdauer

8 Jahre

Eröffnung

29. November 2018

Ausstellungsdauer

Dauerausstellung

Ausstellungsfläche

1300m²