spinner

Paul Gauguin at the Fondation Beyeler

The Multimedia Room of the Exhibition

With 'Paul Gauguin', the Fondation Beyeler presented one of the most important and fascinating artists in history from 8 February until 28 June 2015. The exhibition brought together over fifty masterpieces by Gauguin from leading international museums and private collections.

For the first time in the history of the Fondation Beyeler, a multimedia mediation room was integrated into the exhibition; conceived, designed, and implemented by iart on behalf of and in collaboration with the Fondation Beyeler. With a unique combination of physical and virtual elements, Gauguin's life and work could be explored in fun ways.

Real Books in a New Light

The interactive books that iart developed formed the magical centre of the multimedia room. For the printed parts of the pages were supplemented by projected content, thus permitting interactive elements and moments of surprise in the form of animations with sound: For example, the animated ship actually moved into the harbour of Papeete; when touched, sketches turned into the painting based on them; and a still life flowed out of 'Self-Portrait with Palette'. Quotations in three languages supplemented the themes of the paintings and could be opened and closed.

Sounds emerged both from the interactive books and from the adjoining room, which also offered seating; they contributed discreetly to the South Pacific mood of the multimedia room and filled out the overall experience of the exhibition for the senses.

Wall Graphics in Motion

Gauguin's world travels and exotic locales were illustrated by means of animated wall graphics; they were unusual in that the printed and projected content overlapped. Accompanied by a series of different biographical facts, the routes of his life moved from place to place across the physical map of the world. Beginning with his first sea voyage to Peru at the age of one, he travelled around the world twice with the merchant marine, then the journey passed through diverse stations on his way to Tahiti, finally ending with Gauguin's death on the remote Marquesas island Hiva Oa.

On the side walls, the artist's biography was presented in the form of texts and reproductions of historical photographs that were assigned different colours or spheres in his life. For example, the people, travels, and artistic experiences of his life could be followed as strands in different colours.

Audio Guide for Children and Adults

In addition to the multimedia room, iart was in charge of the audio guide for the exhibition.  It contributed stories and pieces of music to selected paintings and encouraged visitors to make their own discoveries. A new addition to the art education programme of the museum, the audio guide for children provided younger visitors with a deeper understanding of the artist's work in a fun way.

iart was responsible for the conception, design, planning, and implementation of the multimedia room and audio guide, on behalf of and in collaboration with the Fondation Beyeler. The graphics and animations for the walls were conceived and designed in collaboration with berger + stadel + walsh. The sounds were produced by Idee und Klang.

Exhibition Site

Fondation Beyeler

Project Phases

Conception, Planning and Realisation

Project Duration

5 months

Opening

8 February 2015

Exhibition Duration

5 months

Exhibition Area

135 m²

spinner

Paul Gauguin in der Fondation Beyeler

Der multimediale Vermittlungsraum zur Ausstellung

Mit 'Paul Gauguin' präsentierte die Fondation Beyeler vom 8. Februar bis 28. Juni 2015 einen der bedeutendsten und faszinierendsten Künstler überhaupt. Über fünfzig Meisterwerke aus international renommierten Museen und Privatsammlungen waren in der hochkarätigen Ausstellung versammelt.

Erstmals in der Geschichte des Basler Museums gab es zur Ausstellung einen multimedialen Vermittlungsraum; konzipiert, gestaltet und realisiert von iart im Auftrag von und in Zusammenarbeit mit der Fondation Beyeler. Mit einer einzigartigen Kombination von physischen und virtuellen Elementen liessen sich dort Leben und Werke Gauguins spielerisch erkunden.

Reale Bücher in neuem Licht

Die von iart eigens entwickelten interaktiven Bücher bildeten das magische Zentrum des Multimediaraums. Denn die bedruckten Teile der Seiten waren um projizierte Inhalte erweitert und ermöglichten so interaktive Elemente und Überraschungsmomente in Form von vertonten Animationen: Beispielsweise bewegte sich das Schiff der Animation tatsächlich in den Hafen von Papeete, Skizzen wurden durch Berührung zum späteren Gemälde und aus dem 'Selbstbildnis mit Palette' floss ein Stillleben. Den Bildinhalt thematisch ergänzende Zitate in drei Sprachversionen konnten auf- und zugeklappt werden.

Von den interaktiven Büchern sowie vom angrenzenden Wintergarten mit Sitzgelegenheiten gingen Klänge aus, die dezent zur Südseestimmung des Multimediaraums beitrugen und das Gesamterlebnis der Ausstellung auf sinnliche Weise abrundeten.

Wandgrafik in Bewegung

Gauguins weltumspannende Reisen und exotische Lebensstationen wurden mittels einer animierten Wandgrafik sichtbar gemacht, bei der die Überlagerung von gedruckten und projizierten Inhalten eine Besonderheit darstellte. Von wechselnden biografischen Fakten begleitet, zogen sich die Routen seines Lebens von Ort zu Ort über die physische Weltkarte: Begonnen mit der ersten Schiffsreise nach Peru im Alter von einem Jahr, ging es mit der Marine zweimal um die Welt und danach weiter über diverse Stationen nach Tahiti und endete schliesslich mit Gauguins Tod auf der weit abgelegenen Marquesas-Insel Hiva Oa.

Auf den Seitenwänden präsentierte sich die Biografie des Künstlers in Form von Texten und Reproduktionen fotografischer Zeitzeugnisse, die verschiedenen Farben bzw. Bereichen seines Lebens zugeordnet waren: So liessen sich die Menschen, Reisen und künstlerischen Ereignisse seines Lebens in farblich unterschiedenen Strängen erkunden.

Audioguides für Kinder und Erwachsene

Zusätzlich zum Multimediaraum zeichnete iart für den Audioguide zur Ausstellung verantwortlich. Dieser begleitete die Besucher vor ausgewählten Werken mit Geschichten und musikalischen Beiträgen bei ihrer Betrachtung und regte sie zu eigenen Entdeckungen an. Als neuer Bestandteil des Vermittlungsangebots brachte der Audioguide für Kinder den Künstler und sein Schaffen auch den jüngeren Besuchern in unterhaltsamer Weise näher.

iart war im Auftrag von und in Zusammenarbeit mit der Fondation Beyeler für die Konzeption, Gestaltung, Planung und Realisierung des Multimediaraums und der Audioguides verantwortlich. Die Wandgrafik und -animation wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit berger + stadel + walsh konzipiert und gestaltet. Die Raumklänge wurden von Idee und Klang realisiert.

Ausstellungsort

Fondation Beyeler

Leistungsphasen

Konzeption, Planung und Realisierung

Projektdauer

5 Monate

Eröffnung

8. Februar 2015

Ausstellungsdauer

5 Monate

Ausstellungsfläche

135 m²