spinner

Historisches Museum Frankfurt

Information Architecture for a Multi-Layered Walk Through History

The new building of the Historisches Museum Frankfurt offers many possibilities for an exciting examination of the city's past and present. 14 municipal collections convey a broad spectrum of cultural-historical themes. 36 interactive stations enable visitors to engage physically diverse topics. Following the opening of the exhibition in the museum's historic building in 2012, the 4,200sqm exhibition in the new building has now been officially opened.

Organisation of Objects and Data

iart is responsible for the overall concept and media planning of the 36 different interactive stations. Some media stations can be flexibly loaded with changing contents. Others are specifically designed for certain contents and associated interactions. Subjects were defined for all stations, storyboards created and screen designs created. The guidelines for implementation were then defined and the call for proposals organised. In addition, the content was implemented in 20 stations.

The exhibition is based on a complex interweaving of physical objects and a wealth of digital information. A central content management system was installed in order to organize all data and keep it flexibly manageable in the future. During development, interfaces to various existing databases had to be made available and complex security requirements met. Today, not only the museum's website is fed from this basis, but information is also made available in various formats for varying media stations.

Diverse Media Stations 

At the front of the exhibition space on the first floor, the wall is covered with portraits of famous people from Frankfurt. An interactive media table provides background information on this "Gallery of Ancestors". Here the paintings are digitally reproduced as they are hung on site. The digital gallery can be browsed to the right and left via touchscreen. Thus background information can be accessed for each picture.

Under the title "Ortsgeschichten" ("Local Stories"), memory can be tested playfully at an interactive table: A map of Frankfurt shows historical and current views of squares and buildings. These can be dragged and dropped to the right places. In this way, different historical stages are brought to overlap and transformation becomes visible.

On the top floor visitors find a huge physical model of the city of Frankfurt. It provides an overview that is not always possible in urban space. The multitude of different buildings is matched by a wealth of information on the adjacent walls, where two projections provide demographic data: Immigration and emigration, population growth, transport, rent, income etc.

The digital photo booth nearby enables a "selfie journey" through Frankfurt: the live portraits of the visitors are inserted into views of historical buildings. In this way, the interconnection of people and city is set directly into the picture.

Eventually, in the "Bibliothek der Generationen" ("Library of Generations"), objects and testimonies of people whose lives were strongly influenced by the city of Frankfurt are kept. All participants are nominated by those already involved. This also creates a panorama of the relationships between people. The database corresponding to the physical objects is fed by an interface to the web-based management application MuseumPlus.

Exhibition Site

Frankfurt

Project Phases

Conception, Planning and Realisation

Project Duration

7 years

Opening

7 october 2017

Exhibition Duration

Permanent Exhibition

Exhibition Area

3000 m2

spinner

Historisches Museum Frankfurt

Informationsarchitektur für einen vielschichtigen Gang durch die Geschichte

Der Neubau des Historischen Museum Frankfurt lädt zu einer intensiven Auseinandersetzung mit Geschichte und Gegenwart der Stadt ein. 14 städtische Sammlungen vermitteln ein weites Spektrum an kulturhistorischen Themen. 36 interaktive Stationen ermöglichen die Auseinandersetzung mit Geschichte und Gegenwart. Nachdem bereits 2012 die Ausstellung im historischen Gebäudekomplex des Museums eröffnet wurde, konnte nun die 4'200m2 grosse Ausstellung im Neubau eingeweiht werden.

Organisation von Objekten und Daten

iart zeichnet für das Gesamtkonzept und die Medienplanung der insgesamt 36 verschiedenen interaktiven Stationen verantwortlich. Manche Medienstationen können flexibel mit wechselnden Inhalten bespielt werden. Andere sind hingegen spezifisch auf gewisse Inhalte und damit verbundene Interaktionen zugeschnitten. Für alle Stationen wurden Themen bestimmt, Storyboards angelegt und Screen Designs erstellt. Daraufhin wurden die Leitlinien zur Umsetzung festgelegt und die Ausschreibung organisiert. Zudem wurden die Inhalte bei 20 Stationen selbst umgesetzt.

Die Ausstellung basiert auf einem komplexen Ineinandergreifen von physischen Objekten und einer Fülle digitaler Informationen. Um sie zu organisieren und zukünftig flexibel organisierbar zu halten wurde ein übergreifendes Content Management System installiert. In der Entwicklung mussten Schnittstellen zu verschiedenen bestehenden Datenbanken nutzbar gemacht und den komplexen Sicherheitsanforderungen entsprochen werden. Von dieser Basis aus wird heute nicht nur die Website des Museums gespeist, sondern werden auch Informationen in unterschiedlichen Formaten für eine Fülle von Medienstationen bereitgestellt.

Diversität der Medienstationen

An der Stirnseite des Ausstellungsraumes im ersten Stock ist die Wand bedeckt mit Portraits berühmter Frankfurterinnen und Frankfurter. Ein interaktiver Medientisch liefert Hintergrundinformation zu dieser «Galerie der Ahnen». Hier sind die Gemälde – wie sie vor Ort gehängt sind – digital reproduziert. Per Touchscreen lässt sich die Galerie nach rechts und links durchstreifen. So können Hintergrundinformationen zu jedem Bild abgerufen werden.

Unter dem Titel «Ortsgeschichten» lässt sich spielerisch an einem interaktiven Tisch das Gedächtnis erproben: Über eine Karte von Frankfurt sind historische und aktuelle Ansichten von Plätzen und Gebäuden verteilt. Per Drag and Drop können diese an die richtigen Orte gezogen werden. So kommen verschiedene historische Stadien zur Überlagerung und wird Veränderung sichtbar.

Im obersten Stock befindet sich ein riesiges physisches Modell der Stadt Frankfurt, um das die Besucherinnen und Besucher herumgehen können. Es ermöglicht jene Übersicht, die im realen Stadtraum nicht immer möglich ist. Der Fülle verschiedener Gebäude steht eine Fülle an Informationen auf den angrenzenden Wänden gegenüber: Zwei Projektionen liefern demografische Daten: Immigration und Emigration, Bevölkerungswachstum, Transport, Miete, Einkommen usw.

Der digitale Fotoautomat ermöglicht hingegen eine Selfie-Reise durch Frankfurt: Die vor Ort aufgenommenen Portraits der Besucherinnen und Besucher werden freigestellt und in Ansichten historischer Gebäude gefügt. Die Verbindung von Mensch und Stadt wird hier direkt ins Bild gesetzt.

In der «Bibliothek der Generationen» werden Objekte und Zeugnisse von Menschen aufbewahrt, deren Leben stark durch die Stadt Frankfurt geprägt wurde. Alle Beteiligten werden durch die bereits Involvierten nominiert. So entsteht auch ein Bild der Beziehungen zwischen den Menschen. Die mit den physischen Objekten korrespondierende Datenbank wird durch eine Schnittstelle zur webbasierten Management-Anwendung MuseumPlus gespeist.

Ausstellungsort

Frankfurt

Leistungsphasen

Konzeption, Planung, Realisierung

Projektdauer

7 Jahre

Eröffnung

7. Oktober 2017

Ausstellungsdauer

Dauerausstellung

Ausstellungsfläche

3000 m2