spinner

Lecture and Workshop on the Subject of Artificial Intelligence

Bits and Bites: Artificial Intelligence in Design
Lecture at HeK followed by a tour through the exhibition «Entangled Realities» und joint dinner
Thursday, 16. May 2019, 18:30-21:00.
Click here for further information.

Experts speak of AI as a megatrend. Nevertheless, the use of Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning is often not recognizable at first glance. The impressive results and possibilities give the impression that the technologies used are highly complex and inaccessible. And yet artists are working with it, and artificial intelligence and machine-based learning processes are also used in the design field. 

In his short lecture Valentin Spiess gives insights into a new practice of design and pursues following questions: Which areas are these technologies being used for? What do designers expect from it? How does the application of AI change design processes?

The short lecture will be followed by the tour through the exhibition, whereby the same questions will be examined from the artistic point of view. Afterwards the visitors are invited to a small dinner in the museum's bistro where a deeper exploration be undertaken in personal discussions.

Design Experiments with AI
Workshop with Guillaume Massol, Software developer at iart
Friday 24. May 2019, 11:00-16:00
Application: info@iart.ch until 17. May 2019
Language: English

iart presents a workshop for design students and everybody interested in design experiments with AI.

With the flokk platform and a toolkit for AI a wide range of input and output combinations will be possible. No advanced programming skills are necessary for the workshop. Please bring your own laptop. The workshop results will be presented in the evening of 24. May.

The workshop language is English. Please apply for the workshop by latest 17. May 2019 via info@iart.ch, as the number of participants is limited to 20 persons.

spinner

Vortrag und Workshop zum Thema künstliche Intelligenz

Bits and Bites: Künstliche Intelligenz im Design
Vortrag im HeK mit anschliessender Führung durch die Ausstellung «Entangled Realities» und gemeinsamem Abendessen
Do 16.05.2019, 18:30-21:00. 
Informationen finden Sie hier.

Experten sprechen von der KI als Megatrend. Doch ihr Einsatz ist oft nicht auf den ersten Blick erkennbar. Die beeindruckenden Ergebnisse und Möglichkeiten erwecken den Eindruck, dass die verwendeten Technologien hochkomplex und unzugänglich sind. Und doch arbeiten Künstlerinnen und Künstler damit und auch im Bereich Design werden künstliche Intelligenzen und maschinenbasierte Lernprozesse angewendet.
In seinem Kurzvortrag gibt Valentin Spiess Einblicke in eine neue Praxis der Gestaltung und geht folgenden Fragen nach: Für welche Bereiche werden diese Technologien beansprucht? Was versprechen sich die Designerinnen und Designer davon? Wie verändern sich die Gestaltungsprozesse durch den Einsatz der KI?  
Nach dem Vortrag gibt es eine gemeinsame Führung durch die Ausstellung, wobei dieselben Fragestellungen aus dem Blickwinkel der Kunst beleuchtet werden. Anschliessend sind alle Besucherinnen und Besucher zu einem kleinen Abendessen im Museumsbistro eingeladen, in dessen Rahmen die Themen im persönlichen Gespräch vertieft werden können.

Design-Experimente mit KI
Workshop von Guillaume Massol, Softwareentwickler bei iart
Fr 24.05.2019, 11:00-16:00
Anmeldung: info@iart.ch bis 17.5.2019
Sprache: Englisch

iart bietet einen Workshop an für Design-Studierende und alle Interessierten, die sich für die experimentelle Gestaltung mit Hilfe von KI begeistern. Mit der flokk-Plattform und einem Toolkit für KI wird eine Vielzahl von Input- und Output- Möglichkeiten zum Kombinieren und Experimentieren vorhanden sein.
Für den Workshop sind keine speziellen Programmierkenntnisse erforderlich. Bitte unbedingt eigenen Laptop mitbringen. Die Ergebnisse des Workshops werden am Abend des 24. Mai nach der Pecha Kucha AI Nacht im HeK präsentiert.