spinner

flokk

An Open and Responsive Light Platform

flokk offers artists, designers, architects and manufacturers an open platform for developing interactive lighting solutions. It was created by iart within the CTI research project 'Transformative Räume und Objekte' (Transformative Spaces and Objects). The objective of the research conducted by the HGK Basel in collaboration with industry partners was to explore and experiment with the innovation potential of the OLED as a light source.

flokk can be modularly combined and consists of both hardware and software components. The electronic system is a mere 3.9 mm thin, fits in between two square OLED plates and can control up to nine OLEDs at the same time. In addition, it houses a number of sensors, reacting to light, temperature, touch, sound and proximity, among others. All flokk elements are connected via WiFi. Together they form a network of independent nodes, each element aware of its position in relation to its neighbours.

flokk luminaires and installations can react to one another, environmental triggers and internet data and are therefore able to display information in the form of light effects (e.g. patterns of clouds). An algorithm ensures that the luminance in the room remains at a constant level, allowing for an even and pleasant lighting. Thus, if one OLED is dimmed, the opposite will shine brighter, and vice versa.

The first luminaires developed with flokk were presented in the exhibition 'OLED – Licht der Zukunft?' (OLED- Light of the Future?) at the Gewerbemuseum Winterthur (10 May until 18 October 2015). For example, the luminaire CIRRUS 64 reacted to visitors in its proximity, CIRRUS 16 interpreted weather data and GRID 16 visualised acoustic signals.

For more information visit flokk.ch or download our product sheets:
flokk Products
flokk Installations
flokk Lighting Control

spinner

flokk

Eine offene Plattform für interaktive Lichtlösungen

flokk bietet Künstlern, Gestaltern, Architekten und Herstellern eine offene Plattform zur Entwicklung von interaktiven Lichtlösungen. Sie wurde von iart im Rahmen des KTI-Forschungsprojekts 'Transformative Räume und Objekte' entwickelt, in dem die HGK Basel gemeinsam mit Wirtschaftspartnern das Innovationspotenzial der OLED als Lichtquelle untersuchte.

flokk ist modular kombinierbar und umfasst sowohl Hardware- als auch Softwarekomponenten. Die Elektronik ist nur 3.9 mm dünn, passt zwischen zwei quadratische OLED-Plättchen und kann gleichzeitig bis zu neun OLEDs ansteuern. Verschiedene Sensoren reagieren u.a. auf Licht, Temperatur, Berührung, Geräusche und Näherung. Alle flokk-Elemente sind per WLAN miteinander verbunden. Zusammen bilden sie ein Netzwerk von unabhängigen Knotenpunkten, wobei jedes Element die eigene Position in Bezug auf seine Nachbarn kennt.

flokk-Leuchten und Installationen können aufeinander, auf Umwelteinflüsse und auf Internetdaten reagieren und sind somit in der Lage, Informationen in Form von Lichteffekten anzuzeigen (z.B. Wolkenmuster). Ein Algorithmus stellt zudem sicher, dass die Helligkeit im Raum konstant bleibt und sorgt für eine gleichmässige, angenehme Beleuchtung. Wird ein OLED gedimmt, leuchtet das gegenüberliegende heller, und umgekehrt.

Erste mit flokk entwickelte Leuchten wurden in der Ausstellung 'OLED – Licht der Zukunft?' im Gewerbemuseum Winterthur präsentiert (10.5. — 18. Oktober 2015). Die Leuchte CIRRUS 64 reagierte zum Beispiel auf Besucher in räumlicher Nähe zur Leuchte, CIRRUS 16 interpretierte Wetterdaten und GRID 16 visualisierte akustische Signale.

Mehr Informationen finden Sie auf flokk.ch und in unseren Produktblättern:
flokk Products
flokk Installations
flokk Lighting Control