spinner

EWB - Experience the Smart City of the Future

In the Energiezentrale Forsthaus Bern, visitors experience the complexity of sustainable and secure energy supply. As part of a tour, a newly conceived, designed and realised information area by iart allows a deeper engagement. Here you can experience the services provided by EWB and how the centre is integrated into the energy infrastructure of the city of Berne.

The central object of the tour is an interactive table that corresponds with an expansive LED installation. Its outline traces the shape of the urban area of Bern, the city map is projected by two beamers from the ceiling onto the surface of the table. But the interweaving of physical objects and digital animation goes further: all relevant parts of the infrastructure - from the energy centre itself to hydroelectric and wind power to private households - are embodied in handy wooden models. They are tracked and the projection reacts when they are placed on the tabletop. For example, the long-distance heating spreads from the energy centre towards a private house - and as soon as this is supplied, it starts to glow. The mechanisms of energy supply are conveyed through a mixture of haptic interaction and visual animation, and complex material becomes accessible through the playful involvement of visitors.

The limitation to one exhibit - the interactive table - allows the surrounding space to be used for training courses and events. In correspondence with what is happening on the table, the pictograms on the wall light up and create a connection to the architectural space. The communication of the networked energy supply is thus integrated into the overall experience of the energy centre itself.

Exhibition Site

Energiezentrale Forsthaus Berne

Project Phases

Conception, Planning and Realisation

Project Duration

1.5 years

Opening

18 May 2019

Exhibition Duration

Permanent Exhibition

Exhibition Area

360m²

spinner

EWB - Die intelligente Stadt der Zukunft wird erlebbar

In der Berner Energiezentrale Forsthaus erfahren Besucherinnen und Besucher die Komplexität nachhaltiger und sicherer Energieversorgung. Als Teil eines Rundgangs ermöglicht ein von iart neu konzipierter, gestalteter und realisierter Vermittlungsbereich eine vertiefte Auseinandersetzung. Hier wird erlebbar, welche Leistungen die EWB erbringt und wie sie in die Energie-Infrastruktur der Stadt Bern eingebunden ist.

Zentrales Objekt des Rundgangs ist ein interaktiver Tisch, der mit einer ausladenden LED-Installation korrespondiert. Sein Umriss zeichnet die Form des Stadtgebiets von Bern nach, den Stadtplan werfen zwei Beamer von der Decke her auf die Oberfläche des Tisches. Aber das Ineinandergreifen von physischen Objekten und digitaler Animation führt noch weiter: Alle relevanten Teile der Infrastruktur – von der Energiezentrale selbst, über Wasser- und Windkraft bis zum Privathaushalt – werden durch handliche Holzmodelle verkörpert. Sie werden durch ein Tracking erfasst und die Projektion reagiert, wenn sie auf die Tischplatte abgestellt werden. Beispielweise breitet sich die Fernwärme von der Energiezentrale kommend in Richtung eines Privathauses aus – und sobald dieses versorgt ist, beginnt es zu leuchten. So werden die Mechanismen der Energieversorgung durch eine Mischung aus haptischer Interaktion und visueller Animation vermittelt und eine komplexe Materie wird durch die spielerische Einbindung der Besucherinnen und Besucher zugänglich.

Die Beschränkung auf ein Exponat – den interaktiven Tisch –  ermöglicht, dass der umliegende Raum für Schulungen und Events genutzt werden kann. In Korrespondenz zum Geschehen auf dem Tisch leuchten die Piktogramme an der Wand und schaffen eine Verbindung zum architektonischen Raum. Die Vermittlung der vernetzten Energieversorgung ist somit in das Gesamterlebnis der Energiezentrale selbst eingegliedert.

Ausstellungsort

Energiezentrale Forsthaus Bern

Leistungsphasen

Konzeption, Planung, Realisierung

Projektdauer

1.5 Jahre

Eröffnung

18. Mai 2019

Ausstellungsdauer

Dauerausstellung

Ausstellungsfläche

360m²