spinner

Great Council of the Canton of Basel-Stadt

The Electronic Voting System

In June 2012, the Great Council of the Canton of Basel-Stadt launched its new voting system and has since been voting electronically — instead of a show of hands or roll call. iart conceived and planned the digital and wireless voting system and realised it in cooperation with tegoro solutions (since 2013 part of iart).

Voting With Android Tablets

Council members can sign onto a voting device of their choice using their personal membership card and electronically cast their vote. This is made possible by 155 modified Android tablets with touchscreen (4.8"), which are installed onto the desks of the Council members and the standing places, as well as four mobile devices for wheelchair users. They display the question to be voted on and lead through the voting mode. In addition, Council members can use the tablets to request time to speak electronically.

The President of the Great Council and the Council secretaries lead and manage the meeting using larger Android tablets with touchscreen (10"). They add the forthcoming government business to the content management system in advance and are able make edits as the debate progresses. Because the senior civil servants and the President of the Council sit with their backs toward the big screen, they can follow the presentations via live stream on their tablets.

Transparent Voting Results

A large display in the Council hall as well as several monitors on the stand and in the antechamber display the results in real time. Subsequent to the vote, the system automatically generates an export of the results to the website of the Great Council and makes them available to the public.

Data Transfer by WLAN

To ensure that the historic Council hall had to undergo only minor construction work, iart developed a wireless voting system. All data from the voting devices is transferred by WLAN.

Exhibition Site

Rathaus Basel, Grossratssaal

Project Phases

Planning, Realisation and Operation

Project Duration

2 years

Opening

6 June 2012

Exhibition Duration

Permanent installation

spinner

Grosser Rat des Kantons Basel-Stadt

Die elektronische Abstimmungsanlage

Im Juni 2012 nahm der Grosse Rat des Kantons Basel-Stadt seine neue Abstimmungsanlage in Betrieb und stimmt seither — anstatt per Handzeichen oder Namensaufruf — elektronisch ab. iart hat die digitale und funkbasierte Abstimmungsanlage konzipiert, geplant und gemeinsam mit der Firma tegoro solutions (2013 von iart übernommen) realisiert.

Abstimmung per Android-Tablets

Ratsmitglieder können sich mittels ihres persönlichen Mitgliederausweises an einem beliebigen Abstimmungsgerät im Saal anmelden und ihre Stimme zur laufenden Abstimmung abgeben. Ermöglicht wird dies durch 154 modifizierte Android-Tablets mit Touchscreen (4,8"), die auf die Pultflächen der Grossräte und an den Stehplätzen installiert sind, sowie vier mobile Einheiten für Rollstuhlfahrer. Sie zeigen die Abstimmungsfrage zum laufenden Geschäft an und führen durch den Abstimmungsmodus. Zudem können Ratsmitglieder die Tablets nutzen, um ein Wortbegehren elektronisch anzumelden.

Der Grossratspräsident und die Ratssekretäre leiten und steuern die Sitzung mittels grösserer Android-Tablets mit Touchscreen (10"). Sie pflegen die anstehenden Geschäfte im Vorfeld ins Content Management System ein und können sie entsprechend dem Verlauf der Debatte editieren und ergänzen. Weil die Regierungsräte sowie der Ratspräsident mit dem Rücken zur grossen Leinwand sitzen, können sie die Präsentationen per Live-Stream auf ihren Tablets mitverfolgen.

Transparente Abstimmungsresultate

Ein grosses Display im Saal sowie weitere Monitore auf der Tribüne und im Vorzimmer übertragen die Resultate in Echtzeit. Im Anschluss an die Abstimmungen erzeugt das System automatisch einen Export der Resultate, lädt diese auf die Webseite des Grossen Rats hoch und macht sie so der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich.

Datenübertragung per WLAN

Damit der denkmalgeschützte Ratssaal nur minimal baulichen Massnahmen unterworfen werden musste, hat iart eine funkbasierte Abstimmungsanlage entwickelt. Sämtliche Daten der Abstimmungseinheiten werden per WLAN übertragen.

Ausstellungsort

Rathaus Basel, Grossratssaal

Leistungsphasen

Planung, Realisierung und Betrieb

Projektdauer

2 Jahre

Eröffnung

6. Juni 2012

Ausstellungsdauer

Dauerinstallation