spinner

Merck Innovation Center

Interactive Light-Sound Installation

The interactive light-sound-installation at Merck's Innovation Center offers a new kind of audiovisual experience. At different times of the day it generates different moods and reacts in ever new patterns to the physical presence of visitors. It is located between two building parts on the campus of the Merck Innovation Center and turns even short everyday walks into sensual moments.

The expansive light sculpture consists of four curved strands that overlap concentrically, but slightly shifted. A total of 576 double-sided OLED elements are attached to them. Their light varies constantly and is visually multiplied by mirrors on the ceiling and walls. 42 sensors distributed throughout the room register the movement of visitors so that the lights can react to it. The second reference of the light are the sound compositions to which it also reacts. This generates a complex mosaic in which sound and light play together and the viewer draws his or her tracks.

The light-sound-installation was developed and realized by Tamschick Media+Space in cooperation with iart. In addition to the sophisticated planning and implementation of the OLED installation, iart's engagement focused on the development of a 3D real-time simulation. This was used to test various scenarios during the development process. Today, it functions as a control tool during operation. Two of 18 effects can be combined via addition, subtraction, multiplication or fade. Furthermore, each of these effects itself is variable, so that the specific light movements, the rhythm and the position of luminous clusters are potentially infinitely variable.

On this basis, a total of 85 scenes were saved, which are activated in different variants in daily operation. So the light-sound-installation never reacts the same. At Merck's Innovation Center no day is like the other.

Exhibition Site

Darmstadt

Project Phases

Planning, Construction, Operation

Project Duration

1.5 years

Opening

1 April 2018

Exhibition Duration

Permanent Exhibition

spinner

'Light Cloud' im Merck Innovationszentrum

Interaktive Licht-Klang Installation

Die interaktive Licht-Klang-Installation in Mercks Innovationszentrum eröffnet eine neuartige audiovisuelle Erfahrung. Zu verschiedenen Tageszeiten generiert sie unterschiedliche Stimmungen und reagiert in immer neuen Mustern auf die physische Präsenz von Besuchern. Sie liegt zwischen zwei Gebäudeteilen auf dem Campus des Merck Innovationszentrums und lässt auch kurze alltägliche Gänge zu sinnlichen Momenten werden.

Die raumgreifende Lichtskulptur besteht aus vier geschwungenen Strängen, die sich leicht verschoben konzentrisch überlagern. An ihnen sind insgesamt 576 doppelseitig leuchtende OLED-Elemente angebracht. Deren Licht variiert ständig und wird durch Spiegel an Decke und Wänden visuell multipliziert. 42 im Raum verteilte Sensoren registrieren die Bewegung von Besuchern, sodass die Lichter darauf reagieren können. Die zweite Referenz der Leuchte sind die Soundkompositionen, auf die sie ebenfalls reagiert. So wird ein komplexes Mosaik generiert, in dem Ton und Licht zusammenspielen und die Betrachter Spuren ziehen.

Entwickelt und realisiert wurde die Licht-Klang-Installation von Tamschick Media+Space in Zusammenarbeit mit iart. Im Zentrum des Engagements von iart stand neben der anspruchsvollen Planung und Realisierung der OLED-Installation die Entwicklung einer 3D-Echtzeitsimulation. Hiermit wurden im Entwicklungsprozess verschiedene Bespielungsszenarien getestet. Im Betrieb fungiert sie heute als Steuerungstool. Jeweils zwei von 18 Effekten können miteinander kombiniert werden. Darüber hinaus ist jeder dieser Effekte selbst variabel, sodass die konkreten Lichtbewegungen, der Rhythmus und die Position leuchtender Cluster potenziell unendlich variierbar sind.

Auf dieser Basis wurden insgesamt 85 Szenen gespeichert, die im täglichen Betrieb in unterschiedlichen Varianten aktiviert werden. So reagiert die Licht-Klang-Installation nie gleich, kein Tag ist wie der andere.

Ausstellungsort

Darmstadt

Leistungsphasen

Planung, Realisierung und Betrieb

Projektdauer

1,5 Jahre

Eröffnung

1. April 2018

Ausstellungsdauer

Dauerausstellung